Book Review: Double Life by S. Usher Evans

Double Life

By: S. Usher Evans

Pages:244

Published: June 12th, 2014

Published by: Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing

Format: e-book

Source: iBooks

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Sypnosis:

“Piracy is a game. How much are you worth?Since she was a little girl, everyone – from her father to the Great Creator himself – told Lyssa Peate the same thing: she’s worthless. But when she becomes the pirate bounty hunter Razia, she can see the price tag on her own head. Employed by one of the four pirate syndicates, she usesbank transactions and her considerable wits to capture rival members. At least, she would be if Razia’s boss ever gave her a chance. It’s a man’s world, and all she’s allowed to hunt are purse snatchers while she languishes on probation.

To pay the bills, she’s stuck in her old life as Lyssa, discovering and analyzing distant planets and selling them for cash. She’s doing just enough to stay out of trouble,pretending to be continuing her father’s mysterious research while awayfor long periods of time. Her slimy boss is always asking questions andeven assigns one of her younger brothers, Vel, to intern with her.Already struggling to keep the balance between her double lives, shetries everything to rid herself of the kid…

…until the universal police mistake Lyssa’s intern for Razia’s hostage.”

Add DOUBLE LIFE to Goodreads right here!
I’m a huge sucker for a good sci-fi adventure, so after immediately reading the sypnosis, I was hooked! Pirates? Bounty hunting? And a good internal identity crisis? I’m in! I read this book in the span of five days which is pretty good considering school has been overwhelming me. When I finished it in French class, I absolutely freaked out and needed the next one. And with that, I rate Double Life with an amazing 5/5 stars.

I was able to relate to Razia so fricking much; her struggle to prove herself to among a society dominated by men, and the fact that she was leading a double life really hit home to me. Her ambitious and stubborn personality was like looking at myself in a mirror. It was just such a refresher after having to return to school and exams and such. It let me take a step back to enjoy the story, as well as reflect on myself. I loved reading about her struggles and how she managed to overcome them.

I also loved the bounty hunting aspects of the book! I loved watching Razia figure out how she was going to capture certain pirates! Ever since watching Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back, bounty hunters such as Boba Fett really started interesting me, and S. Usher Evan’s take on this concept with a competitive game aspect really, really had me intrigued. (I’m a competitive person okayyyy.)

In addition, I loved the world-building aspects. While they weren’t as in-depth as I’d like them to be (especially with explanations on the Great Creator), it was enough to properly enjoy the story and the experience with Razia.

Also, I loveddddd the side characters! Vel, and Sage were just so snarky and lovable. Two total dorks who love Razia and genuinely care for her well-being (more than she does for herself). The relationship Razia has with her brother, Vel, is like a mirror image of my own relationship with my brother, I cry at how much I can relate to these character. And Sageeeee!!! OMG I love him and his (not-stated but it has to be) undying love for Razia.

Final Verdict:

Overall, you should really, really pick up Double Life. I can’t guarantee you’ll love it, but at least for me, it was a amazing tale of truly finding yourself while making lots, and lots of mistakes. But trust me, picking up this book won’t be a mistake

(And as of right now, you can pick up Double Life for free as an ebook! Just So why not try it out? You may or may not become an addicted mess like me…)

end
Double Life? More like Double My Reading Time for the sequels!

Will you be reading Double Life?

Untitled

Leave a Reply

