Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I’d Give A Theme Song To

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish over here. This week’s topic had to do with music and books. So with that, I decide to do the topic “Ten Books I’d Give A Theme Song To.” This was actually much harder than I thought, but definitely a lot of fun!

 

10. Seven Ways We Lie – Life is Worth Living by Justin Bieber

“Ended up on a crossroad
Try to figure out which way to go
It’s like you’re stuck on a treadmill
Running in the same place
You got your hazard lights on now
Hoping that somebody would slow down
Praying for a miracle
Who’ll show you grace?”

“Life is worth living, ou ou ou ou

Life is worth living, so live another day

The meaning of forgiveness

People make mistakes, doesn’t mean you have to give in

Life is worth living again”

I find Life is Worth Living by Justin Bieber perfect for SEVEN WAYS WE LIE by Riley Redgate because the entire book was about truly finding yourself while making tons and tons of mistakes, and forgiving people for those mistakes.
 
 
9. Divergent trilogy – America by Imagine Dragons

“Rise to the top of the world, America

America, don’t you cry

Lift me up

Give me strength to press on

Rise to the top of the world, America

America, don’t you cry

Lift me up

Give me strength to press on

From farmers in the fields

To the tallest of the towers that fall and rise

1-7-7-6

The names upon the list

For all the ones that gave until they died

Don’t you hold back

I can see in your mind, and your mind will set you free”

America by Imagine Dragons is amazingly accurate for the DIVERGENT trilogy by Veronica Roth because Tris was all about that unwavering strength that would only go up and up. And she wouldn’t only do things for herself, they were always in the best interest of others and those she loved.
 
 
8. The Young Elites – Control by Halsey

“I’m bigger than my body

I’m colder than this home

I’m meaner than my demons

I’m bigger than these bones

And all the kids cried out,

“Please stop, you’re scaring me”

I can’t help this awful energy

Goddamn right, you should be scared of me

Who is in control?

I paced around for hours, on empty

I jumped at the slightest of sounds

And I couldn’t stand the person inside me

I turned all the mirrors around”

Halsey’s song, Control, is absolutely stunning and is a perfect match for THE YOUNG ELITES by Marie Lu because the book is centered around Adelina who can create illusions and often loses control of the darkness within her.
 
7. Percy Jackson – How Far We’ve Come by Matchbox Twenty

“Waking up at the start of the end of the world,

But it’s feeling just like every other morning before,

Now I wonder what my life is going to mean if it’s gone,

The cars are moving like a half a mile an hour

And I started staring at the passengers who’re waving goodbye

Can you tell me what was ever really special about me all this time?

 

How Far We’ve Come by Matchbox Twenty is a great song to represent the amount of growth the characters went through in the PERCY JACKSON and HEROES OF OLYMPUS series. I think that is gives that sarcastic optimistic outlook Percy has.

 

6. The Fault in Our Stars – Thinking Out Loud by Ed Sheeran

“So, honey, now

Take me into your loving arms

Kiss me under the light of a thousand stars

Place your head on my beating heart

I’m thinking out loud

Maybe we found love right where we are

When my hair’s all but gone and my memory fades

And the crowds don’t remember my name

When my hands don’t play the strings the same way (mmm…)

I know you will still love me the same”

I think Thinking Out Loud by Ed Sheeran is a pretty obvious choice for THE FAULT IN OUR STARS because with each day they spend together, Gus and Hazel were losing time together than they ever should have due to cancer. They never got to seventy years old, but their hearts were seventy before they knew it.
 
5. The Hunger Games – Set Fire To The Rain by Adele

But there’s a side to you

That I never knew, never knew.

All the things you’d say

They were never true, never true,

And the games you play

You would always win, always win.

But I set fire to the rain,

Watched it pour as I touched your face,

Well, it burned while I cried

‘Cause I heard it screaming out your name, your name!

I set fire to the rain

And I threw us into the flames

When it fell, something died

‘Cause I knew that that was the last time, the last time!”

Adele’s Set Fire To The Rain is one of my favourite accompaniments to THE HUNGER GAMES trilogy because it’s metaphorical lyrics fit perfectly with the themes and plot of the story, especially the games aspect and Katniss making some impulsive decisions.
 
 
4. The Raven Boys – Drive by Halsey

“All we do is drive

All we do is think about the feelings that we hide

All we do is sit in silence waiting for a sign

Sick and full of pride

All we do is drive”

“It’s so simple but we can’t stay

Overanalyze again

Would it really kill you if we kissed?”

 
Drive by Halsey is a bit more of a more of a Bluesy song than for THE RAVEN BOYS but I still find that first stanza above applicable to the overall story for finding the ley lines.

 

3. Truthwitch – Livewire by Oh Wonder

“So hold me when I fall away from the lines

When I’m losing it all, when I’m wasting the light

And hold me when I put my heart in your hands

When I’m losing it all, when I’m wasting it all”

 
TRUTHWITCH, I feel is accurately represented by Livewire performed by Oh Wonder, specifically the Threadsister relationship between Iseult and Safi. The love and trust in each other is so intimate and beautiful, the music captures it all.
2. Six of Crows – Far Too Young to Die by Panic! At the Disco

“Well I never really thought that you’d come tonight

While the crown hangs heavy on either side

Give me one last kiss while we’re far too young to die (we’re far too young to die).

Far too young to die”

 
Far Too Young To Die by Panic! At The Disco is perfect for the dangerous heist in SIX OF CROWS because young love blossoms while they are on this heist in which they could die during. I don’t know how to explain my feelings for this song more than that lol.
1. Throne of Glass series – King by Lauren Aquillina
“You don’t get what all this is about

You’re too wrapped up in your self doubt

You’ve got that young blood, set it free”

 
 “There’s method in my madness

There’s no logic in your sadness

You don’t gain a single thing from misery

Take it from me

You’ve got it all

You lost your mind in the sound

There’s so much more

You can reclaim your crown

You’re in control

Rid of the monsters inside your head

Put all your faults to bed

You can be king again”

Lauren Aquillina’s King, I find, is perfect to describe the THRONE OF GLASS series which is all about reclaiming what was lost due to darkness, and facing your past and shadows and doing what is right for yourself and others.
end

I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did writing this! Are there any different songs you’d give to any of the books listed above?

Untitled

Leave a Reply

