ARC Review: The Island by S. Usher Evans

The Island (ARC) 
By: S. Usher Evans
Pages: 260
Published: April 26th, 2016
Published by: Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing
Format: e-ARC
Source: Author
My Rating: 5/5 stars
Sypnosis:
“Prince Galian is third in line to the throne, but prefers his place as a resident at the Royal Kylaen Hospital. When his father urges him to join the military to help reclaim their colony, Galian is forced to put aside his oath to Do No Harm and fight a war he does not believe in.Across the great Madion Sea, Captain Theo Kallistrate dreams of a day when she is no longer bound by conscription to fight for her country’s independence. But when the Kylaens threaten, honor and duty call her to the front lines to fight off the oppressors.

When an air skirmish goes wrong, both Theo and Galian crash on a remote island hundreds of miles from either nation. Grievously injured, Theo must rely on Galian’s medical expertise, and Galian must rely on Theo’s survival skills, to live another day in a harsh and unforgiving terrain.

Can they put aside their differences long enough to survive? Or will the war that brought them to the island tear them apart?

The Island is the first in a new romance trilogy by S. Usher Evans, author of the Razia series and Empath.”

 

Add THE ISLAND on Goodreads right here!

Thank you Sush for sending me a copy to read and review!

Disclaimer: This in no way impacted my review.

 

I read Sush’s first book back in January and have fallen in love with her writing. So when she announced this one, despite my hesitation for romance, I was so, so excited for her new trilogy. And let me just say, I wasn’t disappointed. The Island was everything wanted and more which is why I am rating it with a fabulous 5/5 stars due to amazing characters, compelling twists, and detailed world-building.

This novel starts off with Theo who is a pilot in the midst of a war. She is strong. She must be strong. Theo is the captain of her young fleet at such a young age, she has survived countless air battles and seen more death than anyone her age should be seeing. Her wit and skills keep her alive, and that’s what I admire so much from her. Sush creates amazing female role models and Theo is another to be added to that list.

Galian is the prince of the country Theo is fighting against, and he is absolutely adorable in every sense. He never wanted to be a pilot, and just wanted to help people as a doctor. His morals and values are commendable and his interactions with Theo always had me laughing. Their development throughout this book honestly couldn’t be done without the other. Their relationship developed well, so that I was shipping them very, very soon. They had so many great moments, and the author had me itching for them to kiss. And when they did omg it was glorious.
The only problem I had with their relationship was that I feel Theo warmed up to Galian a little too quickly. She was ice cold for most of the beginning, but then it felt like she immediately didn’t mind that he was the enemy and allowed him to help her stay alive. If she were truly loyal to her country, she would have just killed him and got on with it, probably died even. I mean of course that wouldn’t be the point of the book, but I feel that it would have stayed in her character better if she had.
Anyways, there were so many things that I didn’t really picture happening, but they happened and were so unexpected it kind of blew my mind. Sush’s writing will keep you compelled throughout the story and guessing about what happens next. She is amazing at keeping the reader hooked all till the end when they are craving the next book. I finished this book in the span of three or four hours and couldn’t stop to even do a project I had due the next day. Honestly, that’s how awesome this book is.
I mean, when I first heard of this book, I thought it was going to be filled with a bunch of cliches. I hate cliches. And it was kind of was cliche in parts now that I think about it, but while reading, I didn’t notice them at all because they were executed in a way that I didn’t even realize it. I think it’s because the characters were so real to me. They leaped off the page, and in life, there are tons of cliched people, so the characters instantly felt normal and I was completely satisfied with these cliches, because they were done right.
The last thing I loved about this book was the world building. I was able to completely understand the politics of the world, and the tension between the Raven and the Kylae. The world felt so real to me, I could totally imagine myself as the new recruit in Theo’s squadron. But the history between the two countries, the darkness and the horrors were all very well-explained and dealt with.
Final verdict:
Sush’s fantastic writing comes through once again in her first installment of the Madion Trilogy in The Island. Through characters of Galian and Theo, we can once again learn the boundaries of love in an everlasting war. If you love romance, forbidden romances, or even hate-to-love relationships and a good war, this one is for you.
THE ISLAND releases today! 
Purchase your copy right here!
 

 

end

Will you be reading the Island?

Untitled

Leave a Reply

