Book Review: A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

A Study in Charlotte
By: Brittany Cavallaro
Pages: 321
Published: March 1st, 2016
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books
Format: Hardback
My Rating: 5/5 stars
Sypnosis:
The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament. From everything Jamie has heard about Charlotte, it seems safer to admire her from afar. From the moment they meet, there’s a tense energy between them, and they seem more destined to be rivals than anything else. But when a Sherringford student dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Jamie and Charlotte are being framed for murder, and only Charlotte can clear their names. But danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

 

Add A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE on Goodreads right here!

Okay so before I read this book, I liked Sherlock and everything about that fandom. But now that I’ve read this book, man, I don’t like Sherlock, I fricking love Sherlock Holmes. My friends, Sondra and Megan, were bugging me about reading it, and when I finally started, I could not stop at all.

An amazing Sherlock-esque story with familiar yet different characters, an enticing plot, and giving me an intense craving for more, A Study in Charlotte deserves way more than the 5/5 stars that I’m about to give it.

The first thing that I absolutely loved was the fact that the main characters are descendants of the original Holmes and Watson! We are able to see little bits of the original duo in both Jamie and Charlotte, and while they are similar, they are also different in many ways.

Charlotte at the beginning seems a lot like Sherlock, but as the story goes on, her character begins to break the shell that she was taught to have since a young child, into a young woman who cares deeply for those important to her, and isn’t really all that stoic on the inside. Jamie has that similar “idk what you’re thinking Holmes but I don’t think that’s a great idea” thing like Watson, and like him, manages to keep their partner in check, but he has more of a reckless side to him that Watson never had.

What I really liked about their relationship was the fact that it was equally balanced since Charlotte often confided in Watson about his thoughts.

I loved the plot of the mystery, especially the twists at the end. I’m normally the type to guess at who was behind all the attacks, but I never could have guessed the outcome of this one. I loved the overall outcome of the story even if it was sort of an info dump at the end. It was purposeful so that they didn’t give away anything until the end. I felt it was done well.

I loved the pacing in this one. I just kept flipping and flipping the pages. I clearly remember how I was supposed to be doing a geography project, but instead I just kept speeding through it and was down in about 3 hours…. O.o The writing was so gripping and intriguing I just couldn’t stop. It’ll definitely have you wondering how it ends… until the end.

Final Verdict:
A Study in Charlotte was an absolutely amazing rendition of Sherlock and I can’t wait for the next ones in the trilogy to come out! Definitely pick it up if you are into Sherlock or mysteries with really cute teenagers!

end

Will you be reading A Study in Charlotte?

Untitled

Leave a Reply

