SST Review: Signs of You by Emily France

Sunday Street Team was created by Nori @ ReadWriteLove28! For more info, click here!

 

27272341
Signs of You (ARC)
By: Emily France
Pages: 240
Published: July 19th, 2016
Published by: Soho Teen
Format: e-ARC
My Rating: 4/5 stars
Sypnosis:

Since sixteen-year-old Riley Strout lost her mother two years ago, her saving grace has been her quirky little family in the grief support group she joined as a freshman. Jay, Kate, and Noah understand her pain; each lost a loved one, and they’ve stuck together in spite of their differences, united by tragedies only they understand.

When Riley thinks she spots her mother shopping in a grocery store, she fears she is suffering some sort of post-traumatic stress. Then Jay and Kate report similar experiences. Only Noah hasn’t had some kind of vision, which is perhaps why he’s become so skeptical and distant.

When Noah disappears, Riley fears she’s lost another loved one. As they frantically search for him, she, Kate, and Jay are drawn into the mystery surrounding a relic that belonged to Jay’s dead father and contains clues about the afterlife. Riley finds herself wrestling with her feelings for both Noah and Jay—which have become clear only in Noah’s absence. If Riley is to help those she loves, and herself, she must set things right with the one she’s lost.

Add SIGNS OF YOU to Goodreads right here!

 

This review for Signs of You is posted as part of the Sunday Street Team hosted by Nori @ ReadWriteLove28! More more info on the street team, click here. Thank you to Nori and the publisher for sending me a copy to read in exchange for an honest review!

Signs of You is an amazing novel about healing after the loss of a loved one. I first encountered hearing about this book back in November last year. I fell in love the cover and premise and I knew I needed to read it. I had recently lost some people I loved so I was hoping that this book could, well, help me heal, too. And it did exactly just that. I’m rating Signs of You with a 4/5 stars for its friendships, relatable experiences, and overall interesting theories.

One of my favourite parts about Signs of You was its great group of friends that it features. Riley lost her mother two years back but has Jay, Kate, and Noah to count on, even if they are a little odd at times. They’re a group of misfits with one common thing: all of them have lost a loved one and can relate with one another due to the tragedy they’ve experienced. Then suddenly, Riley thinks she saw her mother, and soon Jay and Kate are reporting similar experiences. What was once an inseparable group, is now split since Noah hasn’t seen anyone, and is now gone. The three easily complement each other, working together to find Noah. They just remind me so much of my own friends and how we all think so alike and so differently all at the same time.

What I also really loved about this book was how real Riley’s heartache for her mom felt. I felt like I lost my mother. I praise Emily’s writing style for making the grief seem so realistic. I also really like how accurate these feelings were. I completely related to the hollowness and sadness all of them felt, it was just how I felt when I lost my grandfathers. Like it was real, but it didn’t seem real. Or how you still sometimes feel that maybe it wasn’t true and they’re just late coming back from work. I can’t tell you how many times I cried during this book because honestly I love it so so so much. It’s definitely helped me move on with my life and well, I think I’m okay now.

The theories of this book were so so interesting. So basically there’s this relic that they find in Jay’s house and that’s what they think is causing the weird visions of people they know who are dead. But they know nothing about it and everything that they do find is written in this weird language that google translate keeps mucking up with. And if you’re into history/paranormal stuff this is definitely really cool for you. I’m normally not interested in paranormal things, but I loved it and all the history/new constraints Emily created for the visions.

Final Verdict:

Signs of You was exactly what I needed to get back on with my life; it’s elegant writing and quirky characters were amazingly written to make you feel like it was happening to you. I definitely suggest you pick up this book if you love paranormal occurrences, or if you need a read to pick you back up from something tragic that has occurred.

 

Giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway



About the Author:Emily France graduated from Brown University before going on to law school, where she was the editor-in-chief of the law review. She finds creative inspiration in all things spiritual, from sitting with Benedictine monks for 4 a.m. vigils in a Rocky Mountain monastery to trekking to Buddhist and Hindu temples in India. Now she writes full-time and lives with her husband and their fearless Tibetan Spaniel in sunny Colorado—the closest place to Nirvana she’s found. Signs of You is her debut novel. Visit Emily online at http://www.emilyfrancebooks.com and follow her on Twitter @EmilyFranceBook.

end

Will you be reading Signs of You?

Untitled

 

 

Leave a Reply

