ARC Review: Spells and Sorcery by S. Usher Evans

 photo 29933704_zpsvcgmhmja.jpgSpells and Sorcery (ARC)

By: S. Usher Evans
Pages: 386
Published: October 4th, 2016
Published by: Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing
Format: e-ARC
My Rating: 4.5/5 stars
Synopsis:

You have magic.

One sentence, three words, four syllables. Enough to change my life forever. And I’m not talking about the whole spells and sorcery thing.

Lexie Carrigan thought the weirdest thing about her was she preferred watching documentaries and reading the newspaper to reality TV and Twitter. But on the eve of her fifteenth birthday, her aunt and sisters drop a bomb–she’s magical.

Now the girl who never made waves is blowing up her nightstand and trying to keep from wreaking havoc on her school. When a kind stranger shows up with all the answers, Lexie hopes he’ll be able to help her control her newfound powers. But Gavon may not be as kind as he seems, and soon Lexie finds out that being magical is the least weird thing about her.

Add SPELLS AND SORCERY to Goodreads right here!

Disclaimer: I received an advanced reader’s copy in exchange for an honest review.

Okay when I heard Sush was creating a YA novel with magic, I knew it was going to be the best thing ever. Why? Because her politics and world buildings are absolutely amazing and definitely continue to shine in her new trilogy with Lexie! Her characters and settings were really damn realistic. I loved Spells and Sorcery and rate it with a 4.5 out of 5 stars!

Let’s start off with Lexie. So Lexie is a fourteen year old girl trying to navigate the ruthless thing called high school just like me. But unlike me, on her fifteenth birthday she discovers that she has magic and blows some stuff up. She’s a great character because every step in her discovery of magic, I felt as if I was there, no, I WAS there asking the same questions as her and trying to figure out this new power she had. Lexie was a super relatable character to me and amazingly well-written, as was the other characters in the novel. I just loved the dynamics she had with her sisters and aunt, and mentor, Gavon.

Also, I absolutely love Sush’s world building and rules. This novel is completely different from all of her other ones, and I think she did a fantastic job in creating a new world with laws for itself. I especially loved how the magical system was revealed and built upon throughout the novel. I found it super interesting that not everyone had magic and even if you did, you would only have one of the many types. It differs greatly from what was created in Harry Potter.

The only problem I had with this novel was the pacing of the novel, as well as the plot. To me, it started off really slow and not a lot was happening in the first half of the novel. Of course, I understand that Lexie was trying to learn and control her powers, but I would have appreciated more action in the first half. Also, to me the plot/twist seemed apparent to me early on in the novel, my theory wasn’t completely correct, but I was right on some key points nonetheless. I still really enjoyed the ending because now I can’t wait to see what is going to happen in the next novel!

Final Verdict:

Spells and Sorcery was a grand ride of an ordinary teen who discovers that she has magic. We get to learn all about coming of age, and a whole new magical world that you can discover. I highly recommend you read this novel if you love fantasy, and everything magical because this might just make your mind go “poof”.

end

Will you be reading Spells and Sorcery?

Untitled

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Spells and Sorcery by S. Usher Evans

Leave a Reply

