Book Review + My Story: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

 photo Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_Cover_zpshnb6ffhl.jpgHarry Potter and the Cursed Child

By: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Pages: 343
Published: July 31st, 2016
Published by: Little Brown UK
Format: Hardcover
My Rating: 5/5 stars
Synopsis:
 

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Add HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD to Goodreads right here!

Okay, so how about we start with a bit of how much Harry Potter means to me and how I got into it? So, by the time I became a huge fan of Harry Potter, the seventh book was out and Deathly Hallows part two premiered over four months ago. A really sad afterthought as a new Harry Potter fan emerged. Thus, I never got to go to any of the midnight releases or showings. And then Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was announced and I was ecstatic of course.

But… what if I didn’t like it? I had months to preorder the goddamn book but I never could bring myself to get it. Then the night of the launch, I preordered it and went to one of the Midnight Magic parties Indigo was hosting and I was amazed. I finally got to go to a Harry Potter release party. It was something I never thought I would ever be able to do. But once I got the book, I started feeling a bit of dread to read the book TBH. I didn’t want to taint the world that I had grown up loving. So I pushed it off for a couple of days and then, I just read it.

And I’m so glad I did because it didn’t taint my love at all, it rekindled it. Thus, I rate Harry Potter and the Cursed Child with a 5 out of 5 stars because honestly I don’t know what I’d do without my children and their children. Amazing main characters man.

Albus and Scorpius were everything I wanted from Harry and Draco’s children. Challenging and different from their fathers. Their friendship was amazingly well written and one of the only things I disliked was how they never got together or admitted to any feelings BECAUSE THEIR CHEMISTRY WAS SO GOOD. I gotta admit though, before this book, I was a Scorose shipper, but now I can’t decide because SO MANY NEW CANON THINGS. Anyways their friendship was just about the best part of the book. They as individuals were amazing as well. I loved rebellious Albus and loyal Scorpius.

I also really liked being able to see the old characters, as well, older. Hermione and Ron were definitely spot on. And Draco as a good father was definitely a pleasant surprise. It really fits his character. Possibly he was the most accurate one. I was mostly upset with how they characterized Harry, making him a “bad” father to Albus and making him wish Albus didn’t exist? I don’t think that’s how Harry would react. He grew up as an orphan, so there’s absolutely no way he would treat his kids like that. Also he would never treat Professor McGonagall with such disrespect. But otherwise, I found that he was definitely alright, and back to his normal self.

The plot… the plot was alright. There’s not much I can say without spoiling it (I’ll probably make a discussion post for this), but it was a little far fetched at times. Let’s just say Time Turners man. At times, the rules were like completely ignored and the fact that it even existed was like wow. I’m just like *facepalms severely*. Also, we didn’t really get to see much of Hogwarts and the very essence of Harry Potter, so I feel I got a little cheated there. I did like it when they got separated because we got to learn more about the individual characters. We got to learn more about Scorpius on his individual quest, making him more of a three dimensional character rather than the shallow one fanfiction keeps making up. Speaking of fanfiction…

Final Verdict:

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child did feel like fanfiction sometimes. Sometimes I felt that I should have been reading it on Ao3 or fanfiction.net for free, but in the end, I felt that it was worth the 5 stars because it brought me home. I hadn’t reread Harry Potter for the past 2 years, and I reread parts of it before reading this book, but I never felt really into it again. Cursed Child brought me back home with its wonderful new generation. I would suggest you definitely give it a try. Harry and the wizarding world will always be my home.

end

Will you be reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child?

Untitled

2 thoughts on “Book Review + My Story: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

  1. Okay dammit I’m dying of spoilers already… I haven’t read it but one of my physical friends has it so I MUST STEaL IT FROM HER ASAP

    So I vaguely skimmed over the review but either people love it utterly or hate it utterly and I’m kind of scared to read it? I HAVE NO IDEA IF IT’LL BE GOOD OR NOT HELP

    Like

    • LOL! It’s true! Most people either do hate it or love it. I fell in the love it category. It depends on how open you are to new stuff in the world of Harry. Keep an open mind going into it and if you don’t like it just pretend it never existed. XD

      Like

Leave a Reply

