ARC Review: Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

 photo gemina-by-amie-kaufman-and-jay-kristoff_zpsanwvimlq.jpgGemina (ARC)

By: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Pages: 608
Published: October 18th, 2016
Published by: Knopf Books
Format: ARC

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Synopsis:

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.

Add GEMINA to your Goodreads right here!

I was lucky enough to borrow an ARC of Gemina from my buddy Claire @ BlankSlaters Reads! Thanks again Claire!

*note much of this review shall be flailing because I read this back in June and I didn’t take notes and didn’t write the review till now lol*

I was basically craving Gemina since I finished Illuminae and hell I was so glad when Claire said she would be able to let me borrow her ARC that she got at YallWest. I took my time reading it and man it was great. I devoured the whole thing. Can I just say I need the next book like now? I rate Gemina with a 4.5 stars due to its great plot, charactersssssss, and awesome formating.

Okay let’s start with the plot. The plot was absolutely mind-blowing just like in Illuminae. It was honestly completely surprising in almost every way. While it was a little hard to get into, the plot picked up and there was so much action. Let’s just say there was a lot of guns and a lot of fights 😉 There were also so many twists and turns and I was amazed at how many plot twists they could fit into one book lol. Kady and Ezra’s story fits right into this timeline and I was like “OMGG WAIT WHATTTT” “AHHH OMG THAT WORKS” and “FFFFFFFFF AHHHH.” Ahem- back to coherency, Gemina’s plot was great and really interesting actually in how everything works and fits together between it and Illuminae! Can’t wait to see what types of twists Kaufman and Kristoff bring to Illuminae3! (Gahhhhh, now I have to wait a whole year! ;-;)

In Gemina, we got Hanna and Nik and Ella, and I think I liked them even more than Kady and Ezra. They had even more sass, more chemistry, hilarious lines, and more badass fighting skills. Hanna Donnelly is basically everything I’ve ever wanted to be and gods she’s such a great character. Honestly the fight scenes were really great and I loved reading them. Most of them were actually plausible when it came to the hand to hand combat sequences (a lot of other YA novels don’t feature realistic fights, but I’m glad Gemina did). The characters in Gemina were so kickass like Kady and Ezra in Illuminae. But one thing was missing. Yes, you are correct, I was missing my little, sassy, evil artificial intelligence friend AIDAN. Mhmm, that’s like one of the only thing I felt was missing when reading this.

Lastly, I want to talk about the formatting in Gemina. I don’t know if this is possible, but THE PICTURES AND ALL THE COOL FORMATTING IN ILLUMINAE JUST GOT PRETTIER??? Like I was so sad the ARC didn’t have all of the pretty pictures in it? If there’s anything I like more than a great book, is a great book with pretty pictures which Gemina is. And you know who is illustrating the finished copy of Gemina?? Marie Lu, author of the Legend trilogy and the Young Elites trilogy!!!!! I can’t wait to see the final drawings!

Final Verdict:

Gemina was such a fun mindblowing space adventure with equally badass and amazing characters! If you loved Illuminae, I definitely recommend you pick up the next installment in the Illuminae Files trilogy because it is such a blast (both literally and metaphorically)!

end

Are you excited for Gemina? And if you’ve read it, what did you think?

Untitled

One thought on “ARC Review: Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

