SST Review: Timekeeper by Tara Sim + GIVEAWAY!

Sunday Street Team was created by Nori @ ReadWriteLove28! For more info, click here!

 photo 25760792_zpsdx7piybb.jpgTimekeeper (ARC)

By: Tara Sim
Pages: 368
Published: November 8th, 2016
Published by: Sky Pony Press
Format: e-ARC
My Rating: 5/5 stars
Sypnosis:

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

Add Timekeeper to Goodreads right here!

This review for Timekeeper is posted as part of the Sunday Street Team hosted by Nori @ ReadWriteLove28! More more info on the street team, click here. Thank you to Nori and the publisher for sending me a copy to read in exchange for an honest review!

I was in a reading slump for the the past month. I just couldn’t bring myself to read anything. Then I saw that I had to read Timekeeper to post this review today, and I thought to myself, “well I’ll give this a try and hopefully it gets me out of my slump.” And boy, it really did. I flew through this amazing novel, relishing at its amazing world-building, characters and relationships. I rate Timekeeper with an amazing 5 stars. Here are 4 reasons why you should read it!

1. Danny is such complex character

Danny is a prodigy clock mechanic whose father is trapped in a town where all time has stopped. Obviously wanting to save his father, he is given a back seat by his superiors after an accident he had while fixing a tower where he almost died. On top of that, he has few people he can rely on making him a little lost. He just wants to do what he believes is right, but with his past, few people take him seriously. Throughout the novel, we get to see Danny transform into someone more confident about himself and willing to do what is right even if no one believes him. Danny is truly an amazing character, and I can’t wait to see him develop more in the sequel novels.

2. Dalton? Maybe Colanny? Anyways, DANNYXCOLTON IS AMAZING!

If there’s anything I love about Timekeeper, it was the relationship between Danny and Colton. It’s canonically gay! And their relationship was very natural and I really liked how they supported each other and were just overall fascinated by each other. They were super cute and I felt that they truly were themselves when they were with each other. Also, I tend to be a sucker for forbidden romances hahaha.

3. Victorian London + Steampunk = ABSOLUTELY COOL!

The world Tara Sim used in her novel brought me back to one of my favourite genres: steampunk. Rarely do I see good novels with this a good take on the subject, and well, the world in Timekeeper blew me away. I absolutely loved the idea of incorporating mythology into the reason the clock towers are so important. I also really liked how Tara described the world through Danny’s eyes, I could easily picture everything going on around me, from the the townspeople to the automobiles. I definitely would recommend this novel if you love historical steampunk!

4. The DIVERSITY

With the need of more diversity in YA fiction, Timekeeper has lots of positive LGBTQIA+ representation, as well as POC characters. The main character, Danny, is openly gay at the start of the novel and eventually falls in love with Colton who is also queer. Danny’s assistant, Brandon is a POC who has a smaller, but still important role within the novel. Timekeeper is definitely a novel with diversity, and a great addition to the YA genre.

Final Verdict:

I highly recommend picking up Timekeeper for its intriguing plot, beautiful relationships, and characters. It was a lovely read that you will not be able to put down!

About the Author:

Tara Sim can typically be found wandering the wilds of the Bay Area, California. When she’s not chasing cats or lurking in bookstores, she writes books about magic, clocks, and explosives. TIMEKEEPER is her debut novel. Follow her on Twitter at @EachStarAWorld, or check out her website tarasim.com for fun extras.

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY:

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

end

Will you be reading Timekeeper?

Untitled

Leave a Reply

