2016 in Perspective + 2017 Foreshadowed

20162017

2016, 2016, 2016… what a year guys.

As I begin writing this with less than an hour till 2017, I can’t really fathom that an entire year has gone by. I clearly remember writing last year’s post under the covers of my bed an hour after it became 2016 hoping for it to be the best year yet.

While it was great in some ways, in other ways, it was trash. I accomplished so much in my personal life including adjusting to new circumstances, and making a lot of new friends. I’ve kept up my grades and had time to explore so many different types of media. So many great movies and books have come out in 2016, it’s mindblowing. But also, many of my iconic figures passed away in 2016, such as Christina Grimmie and Carrie Fisher, and unbelievable events happened like Trump voted as president. But all in all, I think it was overall a successful year.

Last year, I had a list of goals I wrote for 2016, and I accomplished very few of them. You can read the post here if you’d like: 2015 in Perspective + 2016 Foreshadowed

I did manage to surpass my Goodreads goal of 35 books by 82 books! I also cohosted a Truthwitch read along with my buddy Duane. I drew a lot in 2016, I trained hard in karate and badminton, and did keep my marks high. I didn’t manage posting twice a week on the blog or instagram, nor did I finish the Raven Cycle lol.

I also met so many great friends in 2016! I met Breanna @ RecommendsBook who is such an amazing person, and I’m so glad to have gotten to know her better over the course of the year!

Also, shoutout to all the people who made my 2016 awesome! Sondra, Megan, Faith, Anelio, Jana: y’all my Firewitches and always made my day with our random shenanigans and spontaneous laugh sessions! Claire and Duane: you guys omg we have the best discussions about books and random stuff, our skype sessions are on-point. Breanna: you bring me up when days are low, maybe skype soon? lol.

To everyone: thank you for a great 2016, here’s to an even better 2017!

But anyways, I think in terms of blogging, I did manage to grow my blog a lot more! I now have over 80 followers on my blog and passed 10,000 views! I also switched from Blogger to WordPress and am much happier with my blog now. I hope to continue growing my blog in the new year!

https://i1.wp.com/manwifeanddog.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/new-year-s-resolution-pic-getty-681635794.jpg

Some goals for the new year include:

  1. Growing this blog – this includes also posting about other things that books!
  2. Reading over 40 books – so at least half of what I read this year!
  3. Receive my first requested ARC – strangely have received an unsolicited ARC first lol!
  4. Getting my black belt in karate – I’m so close guys, so close.
  5. Drawing *better* – solidifying my style, digital drawing, constant sketching…
  6. Blog a hell of a lot more – just about anything, probs at least twice a week!
  7. Do well at school – gotta maintain that 97% man.
  8. Get to know you all better – socialize i need.

Hopefullyyyyy, I’ll be able to actually achieve these goals in 2017, unlike my 2016 goals! Hahahaha! XD I don’t want to push the numbers because I’d like it to take it’s natural course and not be something for me to stress over. Maybe I’ll add to this list as the year goes on? Who knows, lol.

2016, was a pretty good year, hopefully, 2017 will be absolutely amazing.

end

Happy New Year! I hope 2017 will be a great year for you! Do you have any goals for this year?

Untitled

4 thoughts on “2016 in Perspective + 2017 Foreshadowed

  1. I’m glad you had such a good year! I love that you do karate, it’s one of those sports that I can’t do at all, but I’m really interested in. Good luck getting your black belt! Posting regularly is one thing I am pretty good at though, and all I can say is scheduling is your friend. I can sit down and write out a post a day for a week in one night that I happen to have free, and then I look like some organised person that has time every day. I’m definitely following your blog, I can’t wait to see what you post πŸ™‚
    (commenting from #eotybh chat)

    Like

  2. I think a lot of the goals you mentioned here are what I want to try and achieve too. I want to grow my blog and post more as well as commenting and socializing more with the community!!

    Like

  3. I didn’t do the same things that you didn’t do. Lol oops.
    So I hear that you’ve been wanting to skype with me. I’m down. WAIT – why don’t we meet in person also? Great idea right? Let’s do it.
    Also we should get Claire in on one of our Skype calls. You’re already skyping her and she’s really cool online. It’ll be a party πŸŽ‰
    I’m so glad that I met you this. You’ve become one of my best friends. Ily

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, Em! Happy New Year!

    Just like you, I’m planning on reading 40 books for my Goodreads Challenge, and other than that, I’m also planning on reading more Diverse books as well as books by Filipino authors as I, too, am a Filipino. But other than that, I’m gonna be practical. I have a job now, which may (or may not) hinder me in blogging as much as I used to, but I’ll stay positive!

    Here’s to a bright year ahead! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

