My Top 6 Reads in 2016

In 2016, I read 82 books. That’s 52 more than in 2015. So yayyyy *clap clap* me! Thus, I have a lot of great novels this year! It was so, so hard to narrow down this list because 2016 was filled with so many well-written and inspiring novels. Without further ado, here is my top 6 reads in 2016!

247909011. The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

This book was absolutely stellar with its diverse cast of characters including POC, women, and LGBT+ representation. All of the characters and relationships were extremely well-written especially the main character, Cas Leung.

(Goodreads) (My Review)

 

214144392. Truthwitch (and Windwitch) by Susan Dennard

An amazing fantasy set in a world with six types of witcheries. Safi and Iseult are Threadsisters who would do anything for each other. When a card game goes wrong and they’re running for their lives, and playing a very dangerous game. Windwitch is a 2017 novel and is definitely a sequel you need to read!

(Goodreads) (My Reviews to Come Soon!)

254676983. The Love That Split The World by Emily Henry

A debut about risking one’s future for love, Natalie just graduated from high school who starts seeing glimpses of magic. She meets Beau and is told she has 3 months to save them. Time, romance, magical realism, and contemporary combine to tell a magical story.

(Goodreads) (My Review to Come Soon!)

 

232720284. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

The descendants of Holmes and Watson attend the same boarding school where a mystery occurs. Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson don’t exactly hit it off right away, but soon become friends and partners. A funny, yet darker mystery, you won’t be able to put this book down.

(Goodreads) (My Review)

179273955. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

The sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses, Feyre is on a journey to heal herself after the ordeals she faced in the predecessor. At the night court, she meets Rhysand and they go on an adventure to save Prythian and the other courts.

(Goodreads) (Seriously just read this book??)

51jlxspyswl-_sx323_bo1204203200_6. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

The first in a trilogy, Nevernight is about Mia Corvere who has the gift of the shadows. She is inducted into an assassin school and must survive initiation to become a full-time Blade. But when a silent killer starts killing students, will Mia survive long enough to make it through?

(Goodreads) (Review Soon!)

Honourable Mentions

I definitely did read a lot in 2016, so it was super difficult to narrow down this list, but I have some books I still want to mention! First, The Madion War Trilogy by S. Usher Evans was a super great read with great characters and world-building. I definitely recommend picking up this series and the rest of her books as well! I also want to mention Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. Even though I haven’t quite finished it yet, the writing and characters are superb, making it a great ending to the duology. In addition, I want to mention Exit, Pursued by a Bear and Ahsoka by E.K. Johnston, both of which are emotionally-written and amazing novels. Lastly, I want to recommend Riley Redgate’s Seven Ways We Lie which was a great coming of age novel with such a diverse cast!

end

Phew! That was a long one. These are my favourites from 2016, what were some of your favourite books in 2016?

Untitled

 

One thought on “My Top 6 Reads in 2016

  1. ACOMAF really knocked my socks off. Considering I had a few issues with ACOTAR and didn’t enjoy it as much as the rest of the blogging world seemed to; I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the sequel.

    I really need to get my hands on Nevernight! I’m really curious to get into that whole world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

